Friday, July 20, 2012

Barack Obama's response to Mitt Romney's response to Barack Obama's attack on business and success comes from a Bolivian domain

First, here's El Jefecito's response:

Note the following on the YouTube page for the video:

Cute.

The Obama campaign seems to be using a URL shortener service using a Bolivian domain: OFA.BO. I assume that means Obama for America dot Barack Obama.

Who owns OFA.BO?

C:\> whois ofa.bo
Dominio: ofa.bo

TITULAR:
Nombre: DNC Hostmaster
Email: domains en marcaria.com
Pais: Estados Unidos de America
Ciudad: Washington
Direccion: 430 South Capitol Street SE
Telefono: 13054348621


CONTACTO ADMINISTRATIVO:
Organizacion: Marcaria.com
Nombre: Francisco Fuentealba
Email: domains en marcaria.com
Pais: Estados Unidos de America
Ciudad: Nueva York
Direccion: # 1000177, 222 Grace Church St. Suite 302,
Telefono: 2147483647


CONTACTO TECNICO:
Organizacion: Marcaria.com
Nombre: Francisco Fuentealba
Email: domains en marcaria.com
Pais: Estados Unidos de America
Ciudad: Nueva York
Direccion: # 1000177, 222 Grace Church St. Suite 302,
Telefono: 2147483647


CONTACTO FINANCIERO:
Organizacion: Marcaria.com
Nombre: Francisco Fuentealba
Email: domains en marcaria.com
Pais: Estados Unidos de America
Ciudad: Nueva York
Direccion: # 1000177, 222 Grace Church St. Suite 302,
Telefono: 2147483647


Fecha de registro: 2010-08-31
Fecha de vencimiento: 2013-08-31

Oh, I see, it's just a company that handles registrations for others.

.BO is $204.

You need at least three letters before the .BO, so AO.BO is out. On the other hand, nomo.bo, as in "No mo' BO" seems to be available.

It might be a good idea for the Romney campaign to grab that, and for every short URL such as http://OFA.BO/sZ6vxM, to put the refutation at http://NOMO.BO/sZ6vxM.

If you have a geeky streak, you may have recognized 2147483647. Neither the address nor the phone number seem to be real.

Interesting for a campaign who seems to regard legal bank accounts in foreign countries as something shady.

NB: The address for the owner of the domain, DNC Hostmaster does seem to be legitimate, however.

No comments:

Post a Comment